Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Discussions about Z-Way software and Z-Wave technology in general
ibjr
Posts: 20
Joined: 05 May 2016 21:52

Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Post by ibjr » 14 Dec 2018 22:56

I just did an upgrade from 2.3.8 to R 3.0.0-rc17.
Some of my devices support S2 (e.g. Danalock V2). However, after the upgrade to R3-rc17 none of the device show the S2 icon in Expert mode; they are all either unsecure or S0.
Do I need to exclude and re-include the S2 supporting devices to migrate to security S2?

fez
Posts: 102
Joined: 20 Jul 2015 23:03

Re: Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Post by fez » 16 Dec 2018 00:56

I am facing the same thoughts (upgrading), but I was waiting for a released version. I would be very interested in your experience.
... as far I know you´ll have to exclude and include again.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5061
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Post by PoltoS » 16 Dec 2018 14:32

Sure, you have to re-include them as they need to negotiate the secure keys

ibjr
Posts: 20
Joined: 05 May 2016 21:52

Re: Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Post by ibjr » 19 Dec 2018 23:22

I have successfully upgraded my zway network from 2.3.8 to 3.0.0-rc17.
Then I excluded and re-included two Danalock V3 devices in S2 mode.
That works well via ExpertUI ->network->control etc, but S2 inclusion of the two Danalocks did not work via Devices->+Add new.

I tried this several times, by first excluding the devices and then include them. Via Devices -> + Add new, the job always fails; also after excluding the devices. It does ask for the pin-code, but after that it fails with :
Security S2 inclusion timeout event
Node 46:0 CC SecurityS2: Security S2 key negociation with node 46 failed, KEX fail reason: Unknown Security S2 KEX failure reason (0)

Via ExpertUI->network->control->start inclusion (or exclusion) the S2 inclusion always ends successfully.

(I tried both mechanisms three times)

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5061
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Post by PoltoS » 23 Dec 2018 00:12

I believe you need to clear cache as the UI changed too

fez
Posts: 102
Joined: 20 Jul 2015 23:03

Re: Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Post by fez » 28 Dec 2018 00:57

Is an official release of 3.0.0 planned anytime soon?
Could you provide a rough timeframe?

ibjr
Posts: 20
Joined: 05 May 2016 21:52

Re: Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Post by ibjr » 28 Dec 2018 23:39

The current RaspberryPiXtools-v3.0.0-rc17 comes with an old version of the SmarthomeUI (V1.8.0-RC56), which caused several problems.
See my topic in the Razberry forum.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5061
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Post by PoltoS » 04 Jan 2019 02:06

We are constantly working on v3.0.0. Mostly on the new Z-Wave Certification, as it is very tough now. New versions appears every month or even more often. Can not give you any date about the release, but I believe in February we will be close to a release

bogr
Posts: 172
Joined: 16 Nov 2015 22:46

Re: Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Post by bogr » 13 May 2019 21:05

Are there any updates on the release date? Even if it's an approximate date?

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5061
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Upgrade to R3.0.0 and S2

Post by PoltoS » 19 May 2019 15:37

We think to make the release early June despite the certification process. Huge work is ongoing on v3.0.0 and certification is also in progress

Post Reply