Normal install script includes HA. Just follow the instruction above to remove itLumberjack wrote:How can I do that? I did not explicitly install home automation, just ran the normal install shell script.
RaZBerry High CPU Usage
Re: RaZBerry High CPU Usage
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: 04 Mar 2014 03:31
Re: RaZBerry High CPU Usage
And some charts to go with it. Blue is the razberry with the problems. I am not measuring individual processes, but from looking at 'top' on a regular basis, I can clearly see it is the z-way-server process that causes it. I recently bought new SD cards and did a clean install. Monitoring server is on another system.
On each razberry I run a 10 seconds poll of the Z-way queue. Will post some info on that a bit later.
On each razberry I run a 10 seconds poll of the Z-way queue. Will post some info on that a bit later.
- Attachments
-
- Screenshot 2014-08-10 09.49.55-small.png (138.82 KiB) Viewed 10172 times
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: 04 Mar 2014 03:31
Re: RaZBerry High CPU Usage
Completely overlooked it. Sorry about that. Thanks anyway for the quick reply.pofs wrote:Normal install script includes HA. Just follow the instruction above to remove itLumberjack wrote:How can I do that? I did not explicitly install home automation, just ran the normal install shell script.
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: 04 Mar 2014 03:31
Re: RaZBerry High CPU Usage
More analysis on my little python app that issues a:
for each of the raspberries every 10 seconds. It runs locally on each razberry so network issues cannot influence it. Default timeout for the call is 10 seconds.
When I get a timeout error it reports it in the log as
On razberry 2, 3, 4 I see these timeouts every 15 minutes and around 3 or 4 times in a row. Example:
On my raspberry 1 this happened much more frequent before I rebooted it. Basically the API was unavailable for 2 minutes, then got back for about 2 minutes and then back to unavailable for 2 minutes etc.
I hope the intervals may be of help to the z-way team to find what is causing this. Meanwhile I will disable the Home Automation part and see if this have any effect over a couple of days. If you need more info, I will be happy to provide it.
Code: Select all
http://localhost:8083/ZWaveAPI/InspectQueue
When I get a timeout error it reports it in the log as
Code: Select all
2014-08-10 00:21:14,836 - ERROR - Unable to invoke webservice. Exception: HTTPConnectionPool(host='localhost', port=8083): Read timed out. (read timeout=10)
Code: Select all
2014-08-10 08:54:08,736 - ERROR - Unable to invoke webservice. Exception: HTTPConnectionPool(host='localhost', port=8083): Read timed out. (read timeout=10)
2014-08-10 09:10:46,879 - ERROR - Unable to invoke webservice. Exception: HTTPConnectionPool(host='localhost', port=8083): Read timed out. (read timeout=10)
2014-08-10 09:11:06,998 - ERROR - Unable to invoke webservice. Exception: HTTPConnectionPool(host='localhost', port=8083): Read timed out. (read timeout=10)
2014-08-10 09:11:27,119 - ERROR - Unable to invoke webservice. Exception: HTTPConnectionPool(host='localhost', port=8083): Read timed out. (read timeout=10)
2014-08-10 09:23:50,391 - ERROR - Unable to invoke webservice. Exception: HTTPConnectionPool(host='localhost', port=8083): Read timed out. (read timeout=10)
I hope the intervals may be of help to the z-way team to find what is causing this. Meanwhile I will disable the Home Automation part and see if this have any effect over a couple of days. If you need more info, I will be happy to provide it.
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: 04 Mar 2014 03:31
Re: RaZBerry High CPU Usage
Ok, so did:
and it is running fine on all four raspberries since more than an hour. Not a single timeout and CPU load of the z-way-server is also at 5% which is good. Looking promising. Will monitor the load for the coming days and will post an update to see if it can be attributed to the home automation part of the software.
Code: Select all
cd /opt/z-way-server
sudo /etc/init.d/z-way-server stop
mkdir automationbackup
mv automation/* automationbackup/
sudo mv automation/* automationbackup/
cd automation
touch main.js
sudo /etc/init.d/z-way-server start
Re: RaZBerry High CPU Usage
Actually even 5% is quite high for a standby
It is quite bothersome to fix it in current version, but the next one will have a redesigned JS core with smaller (about 1%) CPU usage.
It is quite bothersome to fix it in current version, but the next one will have a redesigned JS core with smaller (about 1%) CPU usage.
Re: RaZBerry High CPU Usage
My setup of 18 devices takes from 3.9-5.5% with only battery polling active. (No calls from OpenRemote)pofs wrote:Actually even 5% is quite high for a standby
Since 29-12-2016 I am no longer a moderator for this forum
Re: RaZBerry High CPU Usage
Just found this thread discusses some problems that are also discussed in thread viewtopic.php?f=3422&t=20397&start=20#p52396. Both threads mention HTTP request timeouts, high CPU loads, etc.
Re: RaZBerry High CPU Usage
I have this issue right now. I just upgraded to 1.7.2 so the server is quiet at the moment... I'm getting a lot of
"Error 500: Internal Server Error
Code took too long to return result"
when trying to do something on the API as well. strace revealed nothing interesting, nothing interesting in the logs. I'll check the threads when it starts eating CPU again, if it's still interesting.
"Error 500: Internal Server Error
Code took too long to return result"
when trying to do something on the API as well. strace revealed nothing interesting, nothing interesting in the logs. I'll check the threads when it starts eating CPU again, if it's still interesting.
Re: RaZBerry High CPU Usage
That didn't take long. :p
htop gives:
there's 56 threads in z-way-server in total. 3306 is the PID.
3386 is stuck in a very tight (100% CPU):
I will now clear the automation directory since it seems to be the culprit and I don't need it (at the moment).
htop gives:
Code: Select all
3306 root 20 0 527M 67044 9084 S 15.0 15.0 2h22:00 z-way-server
3364 root 20 0 527M 67044 9084 S 11.0 15.0 2h07:40 z-way-server
3308 root 20 0 527M 67044 9084 S 3.0 15.0 9:40.64 z-way-server
3365 root 20 0 527M 67044 9084 S 1.0 15.0 2:39.96 z-way-server
3313 root 20 0 527M 67044 9084 S 0.0 15.0 0:07.15 z-way-server
3312 root 20 0 527M 67044 9084 S 0.0 15.0 0:18.78 z-way-server
3316 root 20 0 527M 67044 9084 S 0.0 15.0 1:28.92 z-way-server
3386 is stuck in a very tight (100% CPU):
Code: Select all
gettimeofday({1413749642, 282848}, NULL) = 0
gettimeofday({1413749642, 286211}, NULL) = 0
open("automation/storage/configjson-06b2d3b23dce96e1619d2b53d6c947ec.json", O_WRONLY|O_CREAT|O_TRUNC, 0666) = 11
fstat64(11, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=0, ...}) = 0
mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0xb6800000
write(11, "{\"controller\":{},\"vdevInfo\":{\"ZW"..., 12288) = 12288
write(11, "le\":\"Lux\",\"level\":499.0000128,\"i"..., 2793) = 2793
close(11) = 0
munmap(0xb6800000, 4096) = 0
open("automation/storage/schemasjson-161515635bf81aaee9a368d9f07cfc85.json", O_WRONLY|O_CREAT|O_TRUNC, 0666) = 11
fstat64(11, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=0, ...}) = 0
mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0xb6800000
write(11, "[]", 2) = 2
close(11) = 0
munmap(0xb6800000, 4096) = 0
open("automation/storage/configjson-06b2d3b23dce96e1619d2b53d6c947ec.json", O_WRONLY|O_CREAT|O_TRUNC, 0666) = 11
fstat64(11, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=0, ...}) = 0
mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0xb6800000
write(11, "{\"controller\":{},\"vdevInfo\":{\"ZW"..., 12288) = 12288
write(11, "le\":\"Lux\",\"level\":499.0000128,\"i"..., 2793) = 2793
close(11) = 0
munmap(0xb6800000, 4096) = 0
open("automation/storage/schemasjson-161515635bf81aaee9a368d9f07cfc85.json", O_WRONLY|O_CREAT|O_TRUNC, 0666) = 11
fstat64(11, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=0, ...}) = 0
mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0xb6800000
write(11, "[]", 2) = 2
close(11) = 0
munmap(0xb6800000, 4096) = 0