Explain how to use low level C API

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
Lorenzo

Explain how to use low level C API

Post by Lorenzo »

Hello,
until now, I was using Python to interface with zway, through http ... but, it's too slow and not efficient
I would like to use C. I've my Razberry with gcc. As I'm not an expert at all, would you mind to explain exactly how to compile and run the z-way-test project available at http://razberry.z-wave.me/index.php?id=30
Many thanks in advance,
Lorenzo
misha_shch

Re: Explain how to use low level C API

Post by misha_shch »

Hi Lorenzo,

I'm on the same way as you are, so here are my tips that I've collected digging this topic:
1. First of all you should install and configure NetBeans (there are some other IDEs but NetBeans is recommended one). You will find detailed instructions on it with the following link
http://www.raspberry-projects.com/pi/ca ... ns-windows

2. Create a project with main.c from z-way-test in NetBeans and add ZWay libraries to linker. Again detailed instruction is available with already mentioned link. The only thing that was not obviuos for me is that fro example libzway.so library must be written as just "zway" in linker switches ("lib" part should be removed from the name). Don't forget to provide the path to these libraries.
Also I found that some other libraries are required to run the application (there in no word about it in documentation). In my case I've added following switches:
-L/usr/lib/libzway/ -lzway -lzcommons -L/usr/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/ -lpthread -lxml2 -lz -lm -lcrypto -larchive

3. Put propper device name in initialisation string. In my case it was /dev/ttyAMA0 but not /dev/ttyUSB0.

4. Provide absolute paths to configuration files in zway_init(). By default they are NULL. These are paths to zway server programm subdirectories.

5. Check that original z-way server is not running.