Page 3 of 3

Re: Z-Way to MQTT

Posted: 29 Jul 2016 17:12
by alexmsc
past wrote:My Node-RED flow: http://pastebin.com/SsgtiNBQ

Feel free to ask for any additional info.

I will make a tutorial later.

Could you pls show your MQTT Plugin configuration from Z-Wave Smart Home?

Re: Z-Way to MQTT

Posted: 06 Aug 2016 21:20
by past

Re: Z-Way to MQTT

Posted: 11 Aug 2016 21:47
by alexmsc
past wrote:Here is my mqtt settings https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0VliW ... sp=sharing
Thanks!!!

Re: Z-Way to MQTT

Posted: 12 Aug 2016 17:24
by past
Do you get this working?

Re: Z-Way to MQTT

Posted: 24 Nov 2016 16:29
by lademeister
Just a brief feedback to my questions as quoted- MQTT ist working great and very fast compared to http. Its running absolutely reliable. I am using the "mosquitto" mqtt broker as intallation on my raspberry, i did not use the mqtt-zway-module. Since first setting it up it never stopped working reliable, not even once.
After some reading it's easy to set up - especially in combination with ESP8266 as wifi remote switch, wifi temp/hum sensor or as wifi RGB LED controller it works great.
So I dropped the idea of a http based communication between zway and any remote devices that I built completely and i am only using MQTT now.
I've got working door bell recognation, garage door opener, temp and hum sensors and RGB LED stripe control.

lademeister wrote:has anyone already done something like an ESP-8266 with mqtt and DHT-22 temperature/humidity sensor and using mqtt?
I am just starting that project but right now i only managed to do it with http code device (to be exact I am testing and right now I have a ESP8266 with an relay and I am able to switch it as binary switch in z-way and my iphone app, including feedback about switch status).
I will add DHT22 temp/hum sensor soon.
But I'd like to do it with MQTT protocol.
I have the mqtt broker running on raspberry (its name is mosquitto) and I am pretty sure that I can do the software for ESP8266 wifi chip so that is uses mqtt,

...but how the heck do I import received messages into z-way?
my workaround idea is to write a shell skript that writes mqtt logfile to a ramdrive, another skript which I call from z-way via a code device will search that file for e.g. temperature readings and extract that string and give it back to that "sensor multilevel"-code device as value.
this will work but means a lot of fiddling around with parameters in shell skripts.

I've found this:
https://www.npmjs.com/package/mqtt-zway
but i don't wand to switch z-wave-devices via mqtt protocol, but i want to get sensor values INTO z-way-server "virtual temp sensor" cenerated by code device app using mqtt...


So is there anyone who has a deeper understanding of how to create a virtual sensor which can be filled with values via z-way-API?

I've read a lot but still don't get it how to do this.

Re: Z-Way to MQTT

Posted: 24 Nov 2016 17:14
by pz1
lademeister wrote: I am using the "mosquitto" mqtt broker as intallation on my raspberry, i did not use the mqtt-zway-module.
Interesting!
How is the communication between your "mosquitto" mqtt broker and Zway? Do you have a module for Zway?

Beginning of this year I did some Experiments with TheThingsNetwork and Node-Red. (Since they implemented a compulsory EndToEnd encryption, I had to postpone my experiments)

Re: Z-Way to MQTT

Posted: 02 May 2018 12:41
by cpramhofer
is there anybody out there working with MQTT?

i just tried do get the MQTT Module from the APP-Store working but i do not get any MQTT messages.
i tried with my local Mosquitto instance and with cloudmqtt.com.

z-way version 2.3.7 is running.

any idea how i can figure out where the problem is?

Re: Z-Way to MQTT

Posted: 06 May 2018 13:41
by WoFe67
Hi cpramhofer,

yes, I also tried to use the MQTT app, but without success like you. The problem is, that the z-way server log is messed up with reconnect messages to Mosquitto. Please see my comment I posted in the app store for this app.
However I don't know if it's a problem with the MQTT app or the Mosquitto receiving the message (could be a problem with authentication?!). However I didn't have time to find out what really causes the problem.

Regards

Wolfgang