Razberry Z wave board on Noobs 1.9

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
Post Reply
Bruttern
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Apr 2016 09:56

Razberry Z wave board on Noobs 1.9

Post by Bruttern » 06 Apr 2016 11:18

Hey.

(Long time listener, first time caller)

I've been using the z wave board on a raspberry pi 2 using the image downloaded from z-wave website:
http://razberry.z-wave.me/index.php?id=24 / http://razberry.z-wave.me/z-way-server/razberry.img.zip.
The board is able to communicate to all my devices and have been operating ok for a couple of months. However, the image is based an older version of weezie/jessie, and for some reason it does not work properly with xrdp/tightvnc.

Recently I updated my Raspberry clean with a Noobs 1.9 from https://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads/noobs/. Now I have more updated features on the Raspberry (wifi/remote desktop/pyton programming upgrades), but after installing the z-wave software (wget -q -O - razberry.z-wave.me/install | sudo bash), the raspberry is having communication problems with the z-wave board.
I've followed all steps on http://razberry.z-wave.me/index.php?id=29 - but no luck.

I think this might be similar to the treads https://forum.z-wave.me/viewtopic.php?f=3422&t=21834 and https://forum.z-wave.me/viewtopic.php?f=3422&t=23095

The errors after installation and upgrades are presented in the come us in the UI as "Error handling data from server" and "Cannot start Z-wave binding: Error: Bad data - communication failed".

Just for kicks I reinstalled the Raspberry with the original image from http://razberry.z-wave.me/z-way-server/razberry.img.zip - again the z-wave board communicates fine with the raspberry, but again the xrdp or tightvnc does not work properly.

Are there any know issues with Noobs 1.9 running on the Rasp communicating with the z-wave board?

:geek:

User avatar
DomotikQuebec
Posts: 34
Joined: 14 Jan 2016 19:06
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Contact:

Re: Razberry Z wave board on Noobs 1.9

Post by DomotikQuebec » 06 Apr 2016 16:58

Can you log in the UI and verify the config of the Z-Wave Network access app ?
(Apps -> Active -> Z-Wave Network access)
I had to change it manually to /dev/ttyAMA0 once... I don't remember when or why but I remember having to fix it after some kind of update.
Mario Gravel
Domotik Quebec

Bruttern
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Apr 2016 09:56

Re: Razberry Z wave board on Noobs 1.9

Post by Bruttern » 07 Apr 2016 00:42

I just checked, the Z-wave network access app Serial port to Z-Wave dongle: /dev/ttyAMA0
:(

sploff
Posts: 21
Joined: 12 Feb 2015 00:33

Re: Razberry Z wave board on Noobs 1.9

Post by sploff » 07 Apr 2016 01:13

Check your boot\cmdlint.txt i got same problem with no comunication with z-wave board after a reistallation.

i had to edit \boot\cmdline.txt and took away "console=serial0,115200 "
My original cmdline.txt
dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 console=serial0,115200 console=tty1 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootfstype=ext4 elevator=deadline fsck.repair=yes rootwait

Bruttern
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Apr 2016 09:56

Re: Razberry Z wave board on Noobs 1.9

Post by Bruttern » 07 Apr 2016 22:54

sploff - you rock!

It did the trick! Thanks a million!

sploff
Posts: 21
Joined: 12 Feb 2015 00:33

Re: Razberry Z wave board on Noobs 1.9

Post by sploff » 07 Apr 2016 23:53

Nice :D

Waugh369
Posts: 1
Joined: 04 Sep 2018 14:57

Re: Razberry Z wave board on Noobs 1.9

Post by Waugh369 » 17 Sep 2018 13:03

So apparently I do have a problem with the board. I have the 2 leds on all the time. they are on, but in a low brightness. maybe you have the same issue?
could you paste your cmdline.txt content? (/boot/cmdline.txt)

Post Reply