Restart HomeKit app

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
Post Reply
Spirit78
Posts: 48
Joined: 17 Feb 2017 00:37

Restart HomeKit app

Post by Spirit78 » 04 Nov 2017 10:51

Hi!

I have created a cron-job that restarts z-way server twice a week, since the server hangs at least that often. Arter the restart, the HomeKit app stops working. But everytime I go to apps>HomeKit and turn it off and then on, it always runs like a charm again. Does anyone know if a restart of the HomeKit app is possible thrue a cronjob or some other command?

//Andreas

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4951
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Restart HomeKit app

Post by PoltoS » 04 Nov 2017 11:33

You can use API to do that. But better to help us debug it.

Do you mean that after restart of Z-Way devices are not visible (disappears) in HK and restart of HK app helps? Or some other kind of error?

May be HK app starts too early before Z-Wave binding is started

Spirit78
Posts: 48
Joined: 17 Feb 2017 00:37

Re: Restart HomeKit app

Post by Spirit78 » 04 Nov 2017 16:59

Yes exactly :) I also think that maybe it starts to early. In HK it shows all the devices but they are red as "not responding". If I have HK up in the display and turn to e g Z-way app and restarts HK (toggle On/Off) in apps, an then open up HK it emediatly works, most of the time. Sometimes I have to restart server.

There are other problems in HK too, values are showing wrong. For example where it should be watt, it shows lux.
And everytime I bind a new z-wave device to z-way, HK stops working. Then I have too delete "my Home" in HK and redoo HK app in z-way and name it to something else than before. For example now, the name is raZberry_17 ;) (meaning it is the 17:s time I have redone it.)
But when it works it works great, Siri and all. Since summer -17 it now works to tell Siri too turn on a light to 58% :D

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4951
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Restart HomeKit app

Post by PoltoS » 05 Nov 2017 02:16

Thanks, those are very valuable info. We will try to figure out where the problem is.

ARK1
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Nov 2017 05:10

Re: Restart HomeKit app

Post by ARK1 » 07 Nov 2017 05:17

I also have the problem of whenever a new device is enrolled, the Apple Home app looses connectivity with the Razberry (Homekit Gate). To re-connect I have to remove the Razberry bridge from the Home app, rename Homekit Gate and then re-add the bridge to the Home app.

Post Reply