Brand new ZME_UZB1 not working - Bad data – communication failed

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
Post Reply
jandry
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Apr 2019 00:31

Brand new ZME_UZB1 not working - Bad data – communication failed

Post by jandry » 04 Apr 2019 00:43

Hi,
I just bought a ZME_USB1 that I installed on a Raspbery PI 3 using raspian

I got exactly the first error (Bad data – communication failed) of your FAQ (https://z-wave.me/support/hardware-problems/) but

- the blue LED goes on at start

- I power cycle

- I didn't found the file /etc/inittab like you mentionned and ttyAMA0is not in /boot/cmdline.txt

- smarthome is up and running on port 8083 but with same issue in logs

What can I do to make this work ? I'm out of idea here

I saw https://forum.z-wave.me/viewtopic.php?t=24281 but how to make sure nothing is running on /dev/ttyAMA0

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4731
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Brand new ZME_UZB1 not working - Bad data – communication failed

Post by PoltoS » 04 Apr 2019 00:46

All you mention about ttyAMA0 is for RaZberry. For the UZB change the port to ttyACM0

jandry
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Apr 2019 00:31

Re: Brand new ZME_UZB1 not working - Bad data – communication failed

Post by jandry » 05 Apr 2019 09:29

Hi,
Ok but how can I change this ? I just did the regular command line to install it:
wget -q -O - razberry.z-wave.me/install | sudo bash

I have following logs at the end of in my z-way-server.log

[2019-04-05 08:26:20.718] [D] [zway] Opened device: /dev/ttyAMA0
[2019-04-05 08:26:20.718] [D] [zway] Worker thread successfully created
[2019-04-05 08:26:20.718] [D] [zway] Worker thread entry point
[2019-04-05 08:26:20.719] [zway] Adding job: Get controller info and supported function classes
[2019-04-05 08:26:20.729] [D] [zway] SENDING: ( 01 03 00 07 FB )
[2019-04-05 08:26:20.930] [zway] Job 0x07 (Get controller info and supported function classes): No ACK received before timeout
[2019-04-05 08:26:20.930] [D] [zway] SENDING: ( 01 03 00 07 FB )
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.132] [zway] Job 0x07 (Get controller info and supported function classes): No ACK received before timeout
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.132] [D] [zway] SENDING: ( 01 03 00 07 FB )
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.333] [zway] Job 0x07 (Get controller info and supported function classes): No ACK received before timeout
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.333] [W] [zway] Job 0x07 (Get controller info and supported function classes) dropped: too many resends
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.333] [D] [zway] Job 0x07 (Get controller info and supported function classes): fail
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.333] [C] [zway] Get Serial API Capabilities returned zero.
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.333] [zway] Removing job: Get controller info and supported function classes
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.344] [D] [zway] Worker thread exit point
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.344] [D] [zway] Worker thread successfully finished
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.354] [E] [zway] SaveData will not save data since it wasn't loaded. This is to prevent data loss.
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.375] [core] Error: Bad data - communication failed
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.376] [core] Tried 5 times without success. Stopping tries.
[2019-04-05 08:26:21.379] [core] Notification: critical (z-wave): Cannot start Z-Wave binding: Error: Bad data - communication failed


jandry
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Apr 2019 00:31

Re: Brand new ZME_UZB1 not working - Bad data – communication failed

Post by jandry » 05 Apr 2019 20:25

That works with the web application, thank.
But I sure there is a file to save the daemon config somewhere where this value is stored

Licence for what ? I bought the USB key and want to make it work on my raspberry

jandry
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Apr 2019 00:31

Re: Brand new ZME_UZB1 not working - Bad data – communication failed

Post by jandry » 05 Apr 2019 20:32

I think I found the file, seems to be
/opt/z-way-server/automation/modules/ZWave/module.json

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 4731
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Brand new ZME_UZB1 not working - Bad data – communication failed

Post by PoltoS » 06 Apr 2019 17:27

You had to go in Apps->Active->Z-Wave Binding. If it is not there, use Mantainance->Show System Apps

Post Reply