Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
darkyat
Posts: 11
Joined: 17 Jul 2014 22:41

Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Post by darkyat »

Hey Folks!

I was used to FS20 and I'm pretty new to Z-Wave therefor I apology in advance for every mistake I could have avoided with experience in this subject.

I've linked a Fibaro Motion Sensor (07/05/2014) with my Razberry (March 2014) and its working fine so far except for the Tamper Alarm which simply does not trigger a notification. I'm using the stable version and updated everything of course!

A normal "Motion" works fine but comes along with an error as well:

Code: Select all

[2014-07-17 22:47:01.099] RECEIVED: ( 01 09 00 04 00 03 03 60 0D 01 9E )
[2014-07-17 22:47:01.100] SENT ACK
[2014-07-17 22:47:01.101] SETDATA devices.3.data.lastReceived = 0 (0x00000000)
[2014-07-17 22:47:01.102] Packet CC::MULTI_CHANNEL_CMD_ENCAP_V2 is too short: required at least 5 bytes, got 3
[2014-07-17 22:47:01.104] Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler(zway, command, controller->id, 0, data[4], &data[5]): Wrong packet from Z-Wave network or Discovery got bad data (stick communication failed) (-9)
The Tamper Alarm itself produces a way more annoying error:

Code: Select all

[2014-07-17 22:51:10.864] RECEIVED: ( 01 0D 00 04 00 03 07 9C 02 03 00 13 00 00 7C )
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.865] SENT ACK
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.866] SETDATA devices.3.data.lastReceived = 0 (0x00000000)
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.868] SETDATA devices.3.instances.0.commandClasses.156.data.0.srcId = 3 (0x00000003)
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.869] SETDATA devices.3.instances.0.commandClasses.156.data.0.sensorState = 19 (0x00000013)
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.870] SETDATA devices.3.instances.0.commandClasses.156.data.0.sensorTime = 0 (0x00000000)
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.881] RECEIVED: ( 01 0D 00 04 00 03 07 9C 02 03 00 FF 00 00 90 )
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.882] SENT ACK
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.884] SETDATA devices.3.data.lastReceived = 0 (0x00000000)
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.885] SETDATA devices.3.instances.0.commandClasses.156.data.0.srcId = 3 (0x00000003)
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.886] SETDATA devices.3.instances.0.commandClasses.156.data.0.sensorState = 255 (0x000000ff)
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.887] SETDATA devices.3.instances.0.commandClasses.156.data.0.sensorTime = 0 (0x00000000)
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.899] RECEIVED: ( 01 0D 00 04 00 03 07 60 0D 02 02 FF 00 00 60 )
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.900] SENT ACK
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.901] SETDATA devices.3.data.lastReceived = 0 (0x00000000)
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.903] Node 3:0 CC MultiChannel: Received CC 0xff command from instance 2, but it isn't registered, creating it
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.904] Trying to create command for unknown CC 0xff
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.905] Command Class 0xff is not supported (requested for node 3:2)
[2014-07-17 22:51:10.906] Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler(zway, cmd, node_id, data[3], length - 4, &data[4]): Bad arguments (-1)
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.143] Executing script: api("/v1/devices", { ...
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.148] Executing script: api("/v1/notifications", { ...
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.927] RECEIVED: ( 01 09 00 04 00 03 03 30 03 FF 3E )
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.928] SENT ACK
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.929] SETDATA devices.3.data.lastReceived = 0 (0x00000000)
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.930] SETDATA devices.3.instances.0.commandClasses.48.data.1.level = True
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.932] SETDATA devices.3.instances.0.commandClasses.48.data.1 = Empty
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.947] RECEIVED: ( 01 09 00 04 00 03 03 20 01 7F AC )
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.948] SENT ACK
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.949] SETDATA devices.3.data.lastReceived = 0 (0x00000000)
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.950] SETDATA devices.1.instances.0.commandClasses.32.data.srcNodeId = 3 (0x00000003)
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.952] SETDATA devices.1.instances.0.commandClasses.32.data.srcInstanceId = 0 (0x00000000)
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.953] SETDATA devices.1.instances.0.commandClasses.32.data.level = 127 (0x0000007f)
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.954] SETDATA devices.3.instances.0.commandClasses.48.data.1.level = True
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.958] SETDATA devices.3.instances.0.commandClasses.48.data.1 = Empty
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.970] RECEIVED: ( 01 09 00 04 00 03 03 60 0D 01 9E )
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.971] SENT ACK
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.972] SETDATA devices.3.data.lastReceived = 0 (0x00000000)
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.974] Packet CC::MULTI_CHANNEL_CMD_ENCAP_V2 is too short: required at least 5 bytes, got 3
[2014-07-17 22:51:11.975] Error returned from _zway_cc_call_handler(zway, command, controller->id, 0, data[4], &data[5]): Wrong packet from Z-Wave network or Discovery got bad data (stick communication failed) (-9)
This problem has already been discussed here but it seems like there has been no solution.

Shouldn't the tamper alarm show up as a Notifcation in the z-way-ha Notification Area?

I've tried to set..
* "TAMPER OPERATING MODES" with the Value 0, 1 and 4.
* "TAMPER ALARM BROADCAST MODE" to 0 since it's enough for the Razberry to know about it.
* "TAMPER SENSITIVITY" to 15 (default)
* "TAMPER ALARM CANELLATION DELAY" to 30 (default)

Did I miss something?
pofs
Posts: 688
Joined: 25 Mar 2011 19:03

Re: Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Post by pofs »

It is a problem inside Fibaro devices. Unfortunately, we cannot fix it on Z-Way side.
Probably they'll issue an update to fix this.
darkyat
Posts: 11
Joined: 17 Jul 2014 22:41

Re: Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Post by darkyat »

pofs wrote:It is a problem inside Fibaro devices. Unfortunately, we cannot fix it on Z-Way side.
Probably they'll issue an update to fix this.
Thanks for the heads-up, pofs!

But even if they fix it wouldn't have any possibility to push the update to my devices via the RazBerry, right?
pofs
Posts: 688
Joined: 25 Mar 2011 19:03

Re: Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Post by pofs »

Well, currently you cannot update your devices even via Fibaro Home Center 2 :)
They've promised to add firmware update in the upcoming major release. If they make firmware update files available, you'll be able to update even with RaZberry.
darkyat
Posts: 11
Joined: 17 Jul 2014 22:41

Re: Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Post by darkyat »

pofs wrote:They've promised to add firmware update in the upcoming major release. If they make firmware update files available, you'll be able to update even with RaZberry.
That is awesome, News!

Thanks for keeping up the good work! :)
Lumberjack
Posts: 26
Joined: 04 Mar 2014 03:31

Re: Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Post by Lumberjack »

Even though I realize Fibaro is to blame here for not respecting the ZWave spec, this bug is quite annoying.

Is the ZWave-me/Razberry team in contact with Fibaro to communicate these bugs? Is the community supposed to do so?

Also, I noticed some problems with being able to set some values in the 1.7.2 Blue GUI. I am not allowed to change the values for parameters, e.g. parameter 1, motion sensor sensitivity. In both Chrome and Firefox on Mac I cannot change the slider position not put any value in the edit box which is immediately reset to value 137.

This cannot be a Fibaro issue.

At this moment the Fibaro sensor is quite unusable as the trigger always shows either 'Triggered' or 'Idle' but never changes anymore. I also noticed that the only messages that are sent are different from most other motion sensors I have which always match:

01 09 00 04 00 dd 03 20 01 vv

where dd=device id and vv=value=00 and FF (alarm reset and triggered)

The Fibaro only sends the on/triggered event as:

01 09 00 04 00 dd 03 60 0D 01 94

and then after 30 seconds (default) the SAME message to indicate the off event. There seems no discrimination between the two.
pofs
Posts: 688
Joined: 25 Mar 2011 19:03

Re: Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Post by pofs »

Lumberjack wrote:Is the ZWave-me/Razberry team in contact with Fibaro to communicate these bugs? Is the community supposed to do so?
Well, we reported them the issue. But we cannot tell when they'll fix it.
Lumberjack wrote:Also, I noticed some problems with being able to set some values in the 1.7.2 Blue GUI. I am not allowed to change the values for parameters, e.g. parameter 1, motion sensor sensitivity. In both Chrome and Firefox on Mac I cannot change the slider position not put any value in the edit box which is immediately reset to value 137.
Have you replaced Motion Sensor XML file with the fixed one? Unfortunately, I cannot merge it into Pepper1 database.
Lumberjack wrote:I also noticed that the only messages that are sent are different from most other motion sensors I have
That's exactly the problem with Fibaro device :)

As you said, most sensors send

Code: Select all

01 09 00 04 00 dd 03 20 01 vv
            Basic ---^  ^  ^
              Set ------⌋  ⌊- value
because they're not multichannel.

But Fibaro device is multichannel, so it needs to wrap Alert/Basic commands into multichannel encapsulation packet

Code: Select all

01 09 00 04 00 dd 03 60 0D 01 …
     MultiChannel ---^  ^  ^
    Encapsulation ------⌋  ⌊- instance id
But the packet is incomplete. There should be at least 4 more bytes after that, but they're truncated by device for some reason. That's why RaZberry cannot parse the response, and that's why both on/off packets look the same – the difference should be exactly in missing bytes.
Lumberjack
Posts: 26
Joined: 04 Mar 2014 03:31

Re: Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Post by Lumberjack »

Thanks pofs for the detailed explanation. Really the level of detail I appreciate (and probably everyone on this forum). I am hoping Fibaro picks that up nicely.

The unfortunate thing is that the XML file you pointed to does not seem to resolve all settings problems. Good thing is I have been playing with the 'For Experts' -> 'Expert Commands' window in the blue GUI and that has made the motion sensor working for me.

First I set the value for wakeup time to 60 seconds in the 'Devices configuration' GUI. This way I can test the commands work. Of course you have to set it back to a regular value when done.

In this expert commands GUI I did the following steps:

1. First I created an association with Razberry by entering a 1 (default) for 'Group' and selecting the razberry in the 'Node' and press 'Set'.
2. Then go to 'Configuration' and put 'Parameter' 12 to 'Value' 0 with 'Size' 1 and press 'Set' button. This will enable both basic 'Triggered' and 'No longer triggered' commands to be sent.
3. Then go to 'Configuration' and put 'Parameter' 14 to 'Value' 255 with 'Size' 1 and press 'Set' button. This will send value 255 to the razberry when the motion is triggered.
4. Then go to 'Configuration' and put 'Parameter' 16 to 'Value' 0 with 'Size' 1 and press 'Set' button. This will send value 0 to the razberry when the motion is reset.

Wait a couple of minutes and test if all works. I get a normal 'triggered' in my GUI now and it also disappears after 30 seconds. Perfect. The command class is now also what I expect, in my case:
01 09 00 04 00 09 03 20 01 FF 26
and
01 09 00 04 00 09 03 20 01 00 D9

Hope this helps everyone to bridge the gap until the final solution is out there.
pofs
Posts: 688
Joined: 25 Mar 2011 19:03

Re: Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Post by pofs »

Glad you worked it out.

Please provide more details on which parameters are not working with the proposed file. The parameters you've set have the same size as described in the file, and the values fit into the expected ranges, so I don't see any reason why it may not work.
Lumberjack
Posts: 26
Joined: 04 Mar 2014 03:31

Re: Problems with Fibaro Motion Sensor

Post by Lumberjack »

Sorry to report almost all of them don't work. I loaded the XML you pointed to twice in via 'Actions with configurations' --> 'Import configuration from file' but I am unable to work with the settings UI. E.g. parameter 14, basic ON: Slider does not work, and if I type a value in the edit box, it will reset to value 129 as soon as I leave the edit box. The same holds for many other fields.
Post Reply