Connecting to Azure Event Hubs?

Discussions about Z-Way software and Z-Wave technology in general
RajenK

Connecting to Azure Event Hubs?

Post by RajenK »

Hi all,

I'm quite new to Razberry/Z-Way, but one of my goals is wiring it up to Azure Event Hubs (http://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/services/event-hubs/) to log all the activity. What would you suggest be the easiest way to trigger a call to Event Hubs on every action on the Razberry (switches, data collection, etc.)?

Thanks!
Erasmuz

Re: Connecting to Azure Event Hubs?

Post by Erasmuz »

I'm not sure about all activity, but I think it shouldn't be hard to alter the datalogging module for your needs.

There's a data logging module that already exists to save data pulled from specific devices into json format on the hard drive. I didn't look into deeply, but I would bet it wouldn't be too difficult to make a duplicate of the module that posts the data to azure, or gets it there however it needs it.

I know this isn't a 100% answer on how to do it, but hopefully that could get you started in the right direction.
pz1

Post by pz1 »

Extensive sensor logging to the RaZberry SD card does not seem a good idea to me. These cards do not have the robustness of harddisks and high en SSD's. Would be nice if it was possible to redirect the loggers to some other space in your home network where you have a more robust peripheral.
If you don't mind handing over your data to people with bad intentions, I think you could link up with Azure, but as in Eramuz's response you would have to fiddle with the logging module as well.
Since 29-12-2016 I am no longer a moderator for this forum
Erasmuz

Post by Erasmuz »

pz1 is correct about storing the data locally on the razberry.

Something I didn't realize until I just looked at the module is it supports logging to remote location out of the box.