V3.0.0 Firmare update/ Open updater error

Discussions about Z-Way software and Z-Wave technology in general
enbemokel
Posts: 348
Joined: 08 Aug 2016 17:36

Re: V3.0.0 Firmare update/ Open updater error

Post by enbemokel »

Hi have to write also as I assume there is a weird problem in the update process. I´m wondering if there is some script that
deletes the /etc/init.d/z-way-server on boot up?!

Had to do an update as one of my old installation died, so I flashed a new SD card and installed fresh stretch image with all the updates.
Reboot.
Install the new version with Poltos installation hints from https://z-wave.me/z-way-v3-0-0/:
wget -q -O - https://storage.z-wave.me/RaspbianInstall | sudo bash
Installed my old backup files /ZAB) and everything worked. (Thats a great experience ;-) Checked some menues, expert and apps.
Reboot and the /etc/init.d/z-way-server directory is gone.
So, as I don´t have enough knowledge, I always use this command to get my system running again.

sudo apt-get --reinstall install -o Dpkg::Options::="--force-confmiss" -o Dpkg::Options::="--force-confold" -y z-way-server
then it worked again.

@Polto - maybe you or one of your team can try this, I´m sure you will see the symptom. As far as I can read this forum we do have
this more often after update from different users.
Also I have the same problem in my own house, I rebooted 2 times and had to use the sudo apt-get command.
So far I don´t reboot my devices ;-)

I realized the same on a fresh installation, if I did an upgrade to 3.0.1. Sometimes after a reboot the /etc/init.d/z-way-server
is gone.......

Thanks for your help in advance

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5640
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: V3.0.0 Firmare update/ Open updater error

Post by PoltoS »

Interesting, thank you for you feedback - we will check it. Looks I've heard about similiar from another user.

aivs
Posts: 44
Joined: 04 Mar 2011 15:26

Re: V3.0.0 Firmare update/ Open updater error

Post by aivs »

Hi!
What image did you use for a clean install?
http://downloads.raspberrypi.org/raspbi ... tretch.zip
This ?

enbemokel
Posts: 348
Joined: 08 Aug 2016 17:36

Re: V3.0.0 Firmare update/ Open updater error

Post by enbemokel »

2018-11-13-raspian-stretch, but did all updates for stretch before installation of z-way. Was the only one I had locally.

infinite.player
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Jun 2017 23:16

Re: V3.0.0 Firmare update/ Open updater error

Post by infinite.player »

enbemokel wrote:
22 Oct 2019 15:42
Hi have to write also as I assume there is a weird problem in the update process. I´m wondering if there is some script that
deletes the /etc/init.d/z-way-server on boot up?!

Had to do an update as one of my old installation died, so I flashed a new SD card and installed fresh stretch image with all the updates.
Reboot.
Install the new version with Poltos installation hints from https://z-wave.me/z-way-v3-0-0/:
wget -q -O - https://storage.z-wave.me/RaspbianInstall | sudo bash
Installed my old backup files /ZAB) and everything worked. (Thats a great experience ;-) Checked some menues, expert and apps.
Reboot and the /etc/init.d/z-way-server directory is gone.
So, as I don´t have enough knowledge, I always use this command to get my system running again.

sudo apt-get --reinstall install -o Dpkg::Options::="--force-confmiss" -o Dpkg::Options::="--force-confold" -y z-way-server
then it worked again.

@Polto - maybe you or one of your team can try this, I´m sure you will see the symptom. As far as I can read this forum we do have
this more often after update from different users.
Also I have the same problem in my own house, I rebooted 2 times and had to use the sudo apt-get command.
So far I don´t reboot my devices ;-)

I realized the same on a fresh installation, if I did an upgrade to 3.0.1. Sometimes after a reboot the /etc/init.d/z-way-server
is gone.......

Thanks for your help in advance

Thanks for the reinstall commands. Works like a charm!

Wikibear
Posts: 98
Joined: 01 Jul 2016 14:10

Re: V3.0.0 Firmare update/ Open updater error

Post by Wikibear »

"sudo apt-get --reinstall install -o Dpkg::Options::="--force-confmiss" -o Dpkg::Options::="--force-confold" -y z-way-server"

Save my day... I do everything and found out that this service is missing... Tried to install 3.0.2 but no luck same issue! But after your command my zwave heartbeat is back. Thanks!
Greatings from the noob

Post Reply