Fresh installation didn't work correctly

Discussions about Z-Way software and Z-Wave technology in general
Post Reply
luxus
Posts: 12
Joined: 20 Sep 2015 11:34

Fresh installation didn't work correctly

Post by luxus »

Hello,
I had razberry for a long time (i had the first one as well)
Now i use the green larger one (https://cdn.competec.ch/images/5/1/5197 ... 3.xxl3.jpg)
For the last years i used it with openz-wave and wanna give z-way a try again.
I flashed a sd card with buster lite(on a rpi3), updated it and used the one liner from the z-way download page.
I notice that no z-way-server script got copied into /etc/
The server started.. and i was able to inclusions devices ..
when i tried firmware update, site didn't show up.
i changed the time zone and it wanna restart the server.

The server never restarted and didn't start not after a reboot as well.
I notice
There is no /etc/init.d/z-way-server
Running the installation again didn't help

Code: Select all

wget -q -O - https://storage.z-wave.me/RaspbianInstall | sudo bash
Checking the log it ended after the restart for the change if timezone

Code: Select all

 2020-04-23 03:20:38.985] [I] [core] Executing script: exit()
[2020-04-23 03:20:39.051] [D] [zway] Worker thread exit point
[2020-04-23 03:20:39.052] [D] [zway] Worker thread successfully finished
[2020-04-23 03:20:39.052] [I] [zway] Saving configuration data to config/zddx/e08db763-DevicesData.xml
are the last lines in the log

rafale77
Posts: 115
Joined: 23 Jun 2018 19:26

Re: Fresh installation didn't work correctly

Post by rafale77 »

Maybe you should look into the /opt folder instead of /etc. This script did not work for me either and on buster I had to run an apt-get install after adding the zwave.me repo to apt to get it to work.

luxus
Posts: 12
Joined: 20 Sep 2015 11:34

Re: Fresh installation didn't work correctly

Post by luxus »

thanks rafale77 i just fixed it by installing the razberry image..
it looks like years ago.. z-way gets updates but some stuff just dont get any love

luxus
Posts: 12
Joined: 20 Sep 2015 11:34

Re: Fresh installation didn't work correctly

Post by luxus »

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get --reinstall install -o Dpkg::Options::="--force-confmiss" -o Dpkg::Options::="--force-confold" -y z-way-server
was the solution

Post Reply