Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Discussions about Z-Way software and Z-Wave technology in general
Post Reply
Chester8
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Mar 2020 14:36

Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by Chester8 »

Hi all,

I have been trying the new Easy Scripting app and it's very nice. I have done a few things without problems until I tried to control my thermostat.

Just to simplify things, I wrote this code (when I change the state of a plug, the temperature changes to 20 degrees):

Code: Select all

### ZWayVDev_zway_3-0-37 // Plug

vdev("ZWayVDev_zway_8-0-67-1").set(20)
The problem is that when it executes, I get an "Error: Invalid argument" in the events page. I have looked in the server's log file and I can see what follows:

Code: Select all

[zway] Node 8:0 CC ThermostatMode: Thermostat Mode 1 is not supported by device (modemask 0x0)
[core] Notification: error (module): Error while executing command: Error: Invalid argument
[core] Error: Invalid argument
    at Error (native)
    at t_vDev.(anonymous function).self.controller.devices.create.handler (automation/modules/ZWave/index.js:5638:62)
    at _.extend.performCommand (automation/classes/VirtualDevice.js:316:25)
    at vDevWrapper.set (automation/modules/EasyScripting/index.js:142:12)
    at script (eval at <anonymous> (automation/modules/EasyScripting/index.js:1:0), <anonymous>:2:32)
    at automation/modules/EasyScripting/index.js:56:4
    at onEvent (automation/modules/EasyScripting/index.js:57:5)
    at EventEmitter.emit (automation/lib/eventemitter2.js:311:33)
    at _.extend.emit (automation/classes/VirtualDevice.js:342:26)
    at automation/classes/VirtualDevice.js:268:10
Althought I get the error, the temperature is changed, but It doesn't seem to be right... ¿Can anyone help me to get rid of this annoying message?

Thanks in advance

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5534
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by PoltoS »

What thermostat is it?

Chester8
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Mar 2020 14:36

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by Chester8 »

PoltoS wrote:
23 May 2020 11:05
What thermostat is it?
Hi PoltoS, the thermostat is "Secure SRT321 Zwave Stat (Tx)". Do you have any ideas?

Thanks

ridewithstyle
Posts: 114
Joined: 02 Jan 2016 01:20

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by ridewithstyle »

I too get the "invalid argument" error on the eurotronic spirit-z with the failed secure inclusion when using on/off heat. But I thought the failed inclusion is the more important issue to resolve, hence I didn't put too much thought into it

Chester8
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Mar 2020 14:36

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by Chester8 »

I'm not 100% sure because I did the inclusion many months ago, but I don't remember any failure with the secure inclusion in my case. What type of error do you get?

ridewithstyle
Posts: 114
Joined: 02 Jan 2016 01:20

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by ridewithstyle »

My Inclusion was still on the 2.x line over a year ago. After the upgrade to the 3.x line I get the "invalid argument" when I try to use the ON/OFF heat

Post Reply