Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Discussions about Z-Way software and Z-Wave technology in general
Chester8
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Mar 2020 14:36

Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by Chester8 »

Hi all,

I have been trying the new Easy Scripting app and it's very nice. I have done a few things without problems until I tried to control my thermostat.

Just to simplify things, I wrote this code (when I change the state of a plug, the temperature changes to 20 degrees):

Code: Select all

### ZWayVDev_zway_3-0-37 // Plug

vdev("ZWayVDev_zway_8-0-67-1").set(20)
The problem is that when it executes, I get an "Error: Invalid argument" in the events page. I have looked in the server's log file and I can see what follows:

Code: Select all

[zway] Node 8:0 CC ThermostatMode: Thermostat Mode 1 is not supported by device (modemask 0x0)
[core] Notification: error (module): Error while executing command: Error: Invalid argument
[core] Error: Invalid argument
    at Error (native)
    at t_vDev.(anonymous function).self.controller.devices.create.handler (automation/modules/ZWave/index.js:5638:62)
    at _.extend.performCommand (automation/classes/VirtualDevice.js:316:25)
    at vDevWrapper.set (automation/modules/EasyScripting/index.js:142:12)
    at script (eval at <anonymous> (automation/modules/EasyScripting/index.js:1:0), <anonymous>:2:32)
    at automation/modules/EasyScripting/index.js:56:4
    at onEvent (automation/modules/EasyScripting/index.js:57:5)
    at EventEmitter.emit (automation/lib/eventemitter2.js:311:33)
    at _.extend.emit (automation/classes/VirtualDevice.js:342:26)
    at automation/classes/VirtualDevice.js:268:10
Althought I get the error, the temperature is changed, but It doesn't seem to be right... ¿Can anyone help me to get rid of this annoying message?

Thanks in advance
User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 7565
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by PoltoS »

What thermostat is it?
Chester8
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Mar 2020 14:36

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by Chester8 »

PoltoS wrote:
23 May 2020 11:05
What thermostat is it?
Hi PoltoS, the thermostat is "Secure SRT321 Zwave Stat (Tx)". Do you have any ideas?

Thanks
ridewithstyle
Posts: 155
Joined: 02 Jan 2016 01:20

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by ridewithstyle »

I too get the "invalid argument" error on the eurotronic spirit-z with the failed secure inclusion when using on/off heat. But I thought the failed inclusion is the more important issue to resolve, hence I didn't put too much thought into it
Chester8
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Mar 2020 14:36

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by Chester8 »

I'm not 100% sure because I did the inclusion many months ago, but I don't remember any failure with the secure inclusion in my case. What type of error do you get?
ridewithstyle
Posts: 155
Joined: 02 Jan 2016 01:20

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by ridewithstyle »

My Inclusion was still on the 2.x line over a year ago. After the upgrade to the 3.x line I get the "invalid argument" when I try to use the ON/OFF heat
pgdharman
Posts: 9
Joined: 04 Jan 2017 19:34

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by pgdharman »

PoltoS wrote:
23 May 2020 11:05
What thermostat is it?
I have something similar with the same device (Secure SRT321) on the version (RaZberry 3.2.1)
Screenshot 2021-11-26 at 12.20.52.png
Screenshot 2021-11-26 at 12.20.52.png (17.47 KiB) Viewed 2447 times
Here's the log ...

Code: Select all

[2021-11-19 08:00:00.808] [D] [zway] SETDATA devices.2.instances.0.commandClasses.67.data.1.setVal = 20.000000
[2021-11-19 08:00:00.808] [I] [zway] Adding job: ThermostatSetPoint Set to node 2
[2021-11-19 08:00:00.808] [I] [zway] Adding job: ThermostatSetPoint Get to node 2
[2021-11-19 08:00:00.809] [I] [zway] Node 2:0 CC ThermostatMode: Thermostat Mode 1 is not supported by device (modemask 0x0)
[2021-11-19 08:00:00.811] [I] [core] Notification: error (module): Error during perform command execution: Error: Invalid argument
[2021-11-19 08:00:00.819] [I] [core] Error: Invalid argument
    at Error (native)
    at t_vDev.(anonymous function).self.controller.devices.create.handler (automation/modules/ZWave/index.js:5463:61)
    at _.extend.performCommand (automation/classes/VirtualDevice.js:376:25)
    at Schedules.AutomationModule.setNewDeviceState (automation/classes/AutomationModule.js:209:13)
    at Schedules.AutomationModule.shiftDevice (automation/classes/AutomationModule.js:329:8)
    at automation/modules/Schedules/index.js:93:9
    at Array.forEach (native)
    at AutomationController.self.runScene (automation/modules/Schedules/index.js:92:16)
    at AutomationController.EventEmitter.emit (automation/lib/eventemitter2.js:311:33)
    at automation/modules/Cron/index.js:138:27
[2021-11-19 08:00:00.878] [I] [core] Notification: device-info (device-status): {"dev":"SRT01 set","l":"20 °C","location":1}
The SRT321 gets updated despite this (which is why I haven't called it in sooner).

Also, what's the meaning of the warning triangles here ...
Screenshot 2021-11-26 at 12.25.05.png
Screenshot 2021-11-26 at 12.25.05.png (64.42 KiB) Viewed 2447 times
Again, it seems to work despite these.
User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 7565
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by PoltoS »

You need to force the interview of the thermostat. The thermostat reports no modes, so Z-Way is upset.

Ignore the triangles.
pgdharman
Posts: 9
Joined: 04 Jan 2017 19:34

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by pgdharman »

PoltoS wrote:
26 Nov 2021 17:17
You need to force the interview of the thermostat. The thermostat reports no modes, so Z-Way is upset.
There was already a complete interview in place ...
Screenshot 2021-11-26 at 14.57.59.png
Screenshot 2021-11-26 at 14.57.59.png (96.25 KiB) Viewed 2437 times
But, for you, I forced another interview (the wake-up required toggling switch 1 in the SRT321), and another interview completed without error.

However, when I set the temperature in the Smart Home UI, I still get the same errors in logs ...
Screenshot 2021-11-26 at 15.01.46.png
Screenshot 2021-11-26 at 15.01.46.png (123.76 KiB) Viewed 2437 times

Code: Select all

[2021-11-26 14:52:12.846] [E] [HTTP] Callback execution error: TypeError: Cannot read property 'meta' of undefined
    at findAllUsages (automation/classes/AutomationController.js:3646:45)
    at AutomationController.findModulesReferencingDeviceId (automation/classes/AutomationController.js:3704:9)
    at ZAutomationAPIWebRequest._.extend.getDeviceReference (automation/ZAutomationAPIProvider.js:451:27)
    at ZAutomationAPIWebRequest.handlerFunc (automation/ZAutomationAPIProvider.js:3977:30)
    at ZAutomationAPIWebRequest.ZAutomationWebRequest.handleRequest (automation/WebserverRequestRouter.js:250:35)
    at automation/WebserverRequestRouter.js:32:29
    at WebServer.document_root (automation/Webserver.js:39:31)
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.302] [I] [core] ---  ZWayVDev_zway_2-0-67-1 performCommand processing: {"0":"exact","1":{"level":"21.5"}}
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.303] [D] [zway] SETDATA devices.2.instances.0.commandClasses.67.data.1.setVal = 21.500000
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.303] [I] [zway] Adding job: ThermostatSetPoint Set to node 2
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.303] [D] [zway] Job 0x13 (ThermostatSetPoint Get): removing duplicate
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.303] [I] [zway] Node 2:0 CC ThermostatMode: Thermostat Mode 1 is not supported by device (modemask 0x0)
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.308] [I] [core] Notification: error (module): Error during perform command execution: Error: Invalid argument
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.327] [I] [core] Error: Invalid argument
    at Error (native)
    at t_vDev.(anonymous function).self.controller.devices.create.handler (automation/modules/ZWave/index.js:5463:61)
    at _.extend.performCommand (automation/classes/VirtualDevice.js:376:25)
    at ZAutomationAPIWebRequest._.extend.performVDevCommandFunc (automation/ZAutomationAPIProvider.js:439:51)
    at ZAutomationAPIWebRequest.handlerFunc (automation/ZAutomationAPIProvider.js:3977:30)
    at ZAutomationAPIWebRequest.ZAutomationWebRequest.handleRequest (automation/WebserverRequestRouter.js:250:35)
    at automation/WebserverRequestRouter.js:32:29
    at WebServer.document_root (automation/Webserver.js:39:31)
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.344] [I] [core] Notification: device-info (device-status): {"dev":"SRT01 set","l":"21.5 °C","location":1}
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.594] [D] [zway] Job 0x13: deleted from queue
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.819] [I] [core] ---  ZWayVDev_zway_2-0-67-1 performCommand processing: {"0":"exact","1":{"level":"22"}}
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.820] [D] [zway] SETDATA devices.2.instances.0.commandClasses.67.data.1.setVal = 22.000000
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.820] [I] [zway] Adding job: ThermostatSetPoint Set to node 2
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.820] [D] [zway] Job 0x13 (ThermostatSetPoint Get): removing duplicate
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.821] [I] [zway] Node 2:0 CC ThermostatMode: Thermostat Mode 1 is not supported by device (modemask 0x0)
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.822] [I] [core] Notification: error (module): Error during perform command execution: Error: Invalid argument
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.829] [I] [core] Error: Invalid argument
    at Error (native)
    at t_vDev.(anonymous function).self.controller.devices.create.handler (automation/modules/ZWave/index.js:5463:61)
    at _.extend.performCommand (automation/classes/VirtualDevice.js:376:25)
    at ZAutomationAPIWebRequest._.extend.performVDevCommandFunc (automation/ZAutomationAPIProvider.js:439:51)
    at ZAutomationAPIWebRequest.handlerFunc (automation/ZAutomationAPIProvider.js:3977:30)
    at ZAutomationAPIWebRequest.ZAutomationWebRequest.handleRequest (automation/WebserverRequestRouter.js:250:35)
    at automation/WebserverRequestRouter.js:32:29
    at WebServer.document_root (automation/Webserver.js:39:31)
[2021-11-26 14:52:20.834] [I] [core] Notification: device-info (device-status): {"dev":"SRT01 set","l":"22 °C","location":1}
PoltoS wrote:
26 Nov 2021 17:17
Ignore the triangles.
I'm not sure if this translates, but in our culture we have the story of the little shepherd boy who shouted "Wolf! Wolf!" even when he was lonely, and there was no wolf. Eventually, the villagers didn't take any notice, and when a wolf did appear, the didn't come, and the boy perished ;)
User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 7565
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Invalid argument error when changing thermostat value

Post by PoltoS »

;) Yes, we have the same story. Those triangles will change soon to a reasonable thing.

The problem with the thermostat looks strange. It appears that ThermostatSetpoint is supported, while Thermostat mode is even not supported, but controlled only. This is a pretty rare case and we should fix it. Please try this fix: https://github.com/Z-Wave-Me/home-autom ... 6db4280835
Post Reply