Possible faulty z-wave card - How can I be sure

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
Post Reply
joecrow
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Apr 2016 06:05

Possible faulty z-wave card - How can I be sure

Post by joecrow »

Hi I am experiencing the symptoms described here:
http://razberry.z-wave.me/index.php?id=29

This is the last part of my log file:

Code: Select all

[2016-04-02 02:49:15.740] [D] [zway] Opened device: /dev/ttyAMA0
[2016-04-02 02:49:15.741] [D] [zway] Worker thread successfully created
[2016-04-02 02:49:15.741] [D] [zway] Worker thread entry point
[2016-04-02 02:49:15.742] [I] [zway] Adding job: Get controller info and supported function classes
[2016-04-02 02:49:15.751] [D] [zway] SENDING: ( 01 03 00 07 FB )
[2016-04-02 02:49:15.953] [I] [zway] Job 0x07 (Get controller info and supported function classes): No ACK received before timeout
[2016-04-02 02:49:15.953] [D] [zway] SENDING: ( 01 03 00 07 FB )
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.155] [I] [zway] Job 0x07 (Get controller info and supported function classes): No ACK received before timeout
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.155] [D] [zway] SENDING: ( 01 03 00 07 FB )
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.357] [I] [zway] Job 0x07 (Get controller info and supported function classes): No ACK received before timeout
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.357] [W] [zway] Job 0x07 (Get controller info and supported function classes) dropped: too many resends
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.357] [D] [zway] Job 0x07 (Get controller info and supported function classes): fail
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.357] [C] [zway] Get Serial API Capabilities returned zero.
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.357] [I] [zway] Removing job: Get controller info and supported function classes
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.368] [D] [zway] Worker thread exit point
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.368] [D] [zway] Worker thread successfully finished
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.369] [E] [zway] SaveData will not save data since it wasn't loaded. This is to prevent data loss.
[2016-04-02 02:49:16.400] [I] [core] Notification: critical (z-wave): Cannot start Z-Wave binding: Error: Bad data - communication failed
Both LED's on the z-way razberry card come one when it boots but continues to flash non stop with an interval of about 1 second on and 1 second off.

I am unable to get into the expert UI because of an error:
"Error handling data from server"

The card is correctly installed on pins 1-10.
Its a new Z-wave card and I have tried it on a raspberry pi 1 and a raspberry pi 2.
I have tried it on the pre built image from Z-wave me and also the install script on a clean install of Raspian.
Raspian is up to date.

Any ideas on what to try next or is there a way to reset the Z-wave card in the terminal?

Plainsane
Posts: 81
Joined: 20 Apr 2015 01:22

Re: Possible faulty z-wave card - How can I be sure

Post by Plainsane »

What version are you running? The expert ui should work either way

sploff
Posts: 21
Joined: 12 Feb 2015 00:33

Re: Possible faulty z-wave card - How can I be sure

Post by sploff »

I have same problem with a razberry card, it didnt help to change it in the store to a new one.

I'm trying different versions of operatingsystem and z-way server on two rasperyy pies, i will post if i find a combination that is working.

My first system is running fine on one of the pies so it's not problem with the pie

@Plainsane, no it don't work in expert ui, i got an error about comunication with razberry board

I have comunication with razbery card now, i had to edit \boot\cmdline.txt and took away "console=serial0,115200 "
My original cmdline.txt
dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 console=serial0,115200 console=tty1 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootfstype=ext4 elevator=deadline fsck.repair=yes rootwait

Plainsane
Posts: 81
Joined: 20 Apr 2015 01:22

Re: Possible faulty z-wave card - How can I be sure

Post by Plainsane »

It sounded like he could not pull up the expert ui, I just meant that the expert ui should be viewable.

joecrow
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Apr 2016 06:05

Re: Possible faulty z-wave card - How can I be sure

Post by joecrow »

I also had the error when trying to access expert ui. I have contacted the supplier and he told me that if the card flashes continuously (both red and green lights) that it is a hardware fault. I have sent it back, when I get the new one I will let you guys know how it goes. Thanks for the help.

Post Reply