Permanently change Tx PowerLevel

Discussions about RaZberry - Z-Wave board for Raspberry computer
Post Reply
erozen
Posts: 13
Joined: 12 Apr 2020 03:21

Permanently change Tx PowerLevel

Post by erozen »

Is there a way to change the transmit powerlevel of a battery device permanently? I've just installed one about 30cm away from my controller, so it seems like a waste of battery power to be transmitting at full power. I've set it to -9 through advanced and it still communicates fine - but with a max timeout of 255 seconds, I'd have to wake it up every 4 minutes to set it back to minimum, which would be counter-effective.

Alternatively, is it possible (or even worthwhile) to lower the power level each time as the first instruction, before issuing any get/set commands?

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5524
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Permanently change Tx PowerLevel

Post by PoltoS »

The power consumption on TX is not that significant compared to the chip idle work in wake up mode. It is not worth. And in case of some noise around your reduced power can lead to retransmission and hence eat more power than on full TX

erozen
Posts: 13
Joined: 12 Apr 2020 03:21

Re: Permanently change Tx PowerLevel

Post by erozen »

Every little helps! I figured since it was so close - basically touching - that it would be an easy win with no down-side. Are you saying it's not even possible to do though?

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5524
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Permanently change Tx PowerLevel

Post by PoltoS »

No, it is not possible

Post Reply