Page 1 of 2

Remote control for Danfoss living connect

Posted: 05 Oct 2014 01:12
by LAN-Opfer
Hi,

is it possible, to use e.g. a Secure SRT321 as a "easy to use" remote control for a Danfoss living connect? The Danfoss unit is mounted near the floor and thereby uncomfortable to use.
In addition, it would be better to measure the actual value at a different Location - not near the Radiator.

Uwe

Re: Remote control for Danfoss living connect

Posted: 06 Oct 2014 03:38
by PoltoS
only through controller: binding data from SRT321 to DLC. Directly not possible, since both are sleeping devices.

Re: Remote control for Danfoss living connect

Posted: 06 Oct 2014 08:25
by LAN-Opfer
I have also a Razberry - so it should work? Could you tell me, how I have to do the binding?

Uwe

Re: Remote control for Danfoss living connect

Posted: 07 Oct 2014 00:26
by PoltoS
Unfortunately there are no predefined module like this.

You need to do pretty like:

zway.devices.ThermostatSetpoint.data[1].val.bind(function() { zway.devices[D].ThermostatSetpoint.Set(1, this.value); })

You can put it to Load Cusom Code module in Z-Way HA for example. Please make sure SRT321 sends you values as ThermostSetpoint reports and change S and D to correct nodeIds

Re: Remote control for Danfoss living connect

Posted: 07 Oct 2014 11:33
by LAN-Opfer
ok - I have just ordered a Secure SRT321 and will try to do it.

I have some trouble with the Webinterface (see viewtopic.php?f=3419&t=20716). Although I use a Chrome Browsr, I could not see all elements correctly.

THX

Uwe

Re: Remote control for Danfoss living connect

Posted: 07 Oct 2014 12:24
by pz1
Just a side note:
If I remember correctly, the Danfoss Living Connect devices are PID controllers. That means, that to some extent, they should be considered as autonomous devices. Over the years people on different HA fora, including this one, have expressed concerns about sluggish response of these Danfoss devices. (I do not know if the new LC013 version are different from the older devices where users reported about).
In the end you may find yourself observing a battle between two "intelligent" devices: your controller and the DLC. Also be aware that frequent updates to your DLC may put a high load on your batteries.

Re: Remote control for Danfoss living connect

Posted: 07 Oct 2014 12:44
by LAN-Opfer
I hope to get the setpoint value from SRT321, wich is set by hand with the thumbwheel. I don't want to use it as PID-controller - I only want to ue it as 'stupid' operator terminal.

Uwe

Re: Remote control for Danfoss living connect

Posted: 07 Oct 2014 13:48
by pz1
LAN-Opfer wrote: I don't want to use it as PID-controller
The Danfoss is a PID controller (see LC datasheet). So you have to live with its characteristics (PID Controller Theory)

Re: Remote control for Danfoss living connect

Posted: 07 Oct 2014 14:33
by LAN-Opfer
Yes - but I dont want to use the SRT321 as PID-Controller - it should only deliver the setpoint value for the DLC.
It would be ideal to get also the actual temperature value (I think, that is possible) and to bind it to the DLC (I think, that is not possible), so that the PID-Controller from DLC calculates the deviation with the values from SRT321.

Uwe

Re: Remote control for Danfoss living connect

Posted: 11 Oct 2014 21:23
by LAN-Opfer
...I tried the Jacascript - but I think, the Syntax is not ok
JavaScript code:
zway.devices[5].ThermostatSetpoint.data[1].val.bind(function() { zway.devices[4].ThermostatSetpoint.Set(1, this.value); }

The SRT321 is Id 5 and Danfoss LC is Id 4.

What is wrong?

Uwe