Schlage locks redux

Discussions about existing Z-Wave device and their usage with Z-Way/Z-Cloud/Z-Box
Post Reply
novalis
Posts: 13
Joined: 29 Jun 2016 22:34

Schlage locks redux

Post by novalis » 29 Jun 2016 23:02

I have the (in)famous schlage BE469 locks in my house, and purchased a razberry with the intention of interfacing it with them. Like those before me, I've had no trouble pairing them with the razberry, but I see no updates in z-way when their state is manually changed.

I see that this
https://forum.z-wave.me/viewtopic.php?t=21233&p=55717
problem
https://forum.z-wave.me/viewtopic.php?t=20031&p=49257
has been
viewtopic.php?f=3422&t=19989&p=49103&hi ... age#p49103
around for a while (years).

Is this ever going to get a fix? Is there already a fix and the patch just hasn't been merged yet? Help?

User avatar
codypchristian
Posts: 9
Joined: 28 Oct 2015 03:49
Location: orlando, fl
Contact:

Re: Schlage locks redux

Post by codypchristian » 10 Jul 2016 18:51

Hello, so I've had an interesting experience with these as well. I have two of them, same model, but different firmware. So one works and one does not. However, it appears you can't upgrade the firmware without the Hub that Lowes sales, which is crazy. But to your issue, the one that does pair and work, seems to function fine, including the state changes. Not sure why mine is working... if so many people can't get it working.
Thanks, Cody

pz1
Posts: 2053
Joined: 08 Apr 2012 13:44

Re: Schlage locks redux

Post by pz1 » 10 Jul 2016 21:14

codypchristian wrote: However, it appears you can't upgrade the firmware without the Hub that Lowes sales, which is crazy.
Over the years, Z-Wave vendors (but also others in the IoT business) have proven to be very capable of ruining their own business!
Since 29-12-2016 I am no longer a moderator for this forum

CudaNet
Posts: 58
Joined: 10 Jul 2016 22:32

Re: Schlage locks redux

Post by CudaNet » 12 Jul 2016 02:06

Adding to the Redux here... As you indicated, interview went flawless. If the lock is operated manually, I get updates and communication is (re)established between the lock and z-way (temporarily). However, if I attempt to toggle the lock using z-way, nothing happens. Shortly afterwards it appears the lock drops the wireless connection as z-way indicates exactly that.

So what needs to be done to troubleshoot this and what information can we supply and to whom exactly ? I have 3 of these locks working perfectly using MicasaVerde, but would love to see this operating correctly in z-way.

pz1
Posts: 2053
Joined: 08 Apr 2012 13:44

Re: Schlage locks redux

Post by pz1 » 12 Jul 2016 10:15

CudaNet wrote:So what needs to be done to troubleshoot this and what information can we supply and to whom exactly ?
Contact info@z-wave.me and explain your problem. Provide version numbers of hardware and ZWay. Also supply a relevant /var/log/z-way-server.log
Since 29-12-2016 I am no longer a moderator for this forum

CudaNet
Posts: 58
Joined: 10 Jul 2016 22:32

Re: Schlage locks redux

Post by CudaNet » 12 Jul 2016 17:04

I'll put something together today and send it off.. Thank you !
pz1 wrote:
CudaNet wrote:So what needs to be done to troubleshoot this and what information can we supply and to whom exactly ?
Contact info@z-wave.me and explain your problem. Provide version numbers of hardware and ZWay. Also supply a relevant /var/log/z-way-server.log

pz1
Posts: 2053
Joined: 08 Apr 2012 13:44

Re: Schlage locks redux

Post by pz1 » 12 Jul 2016 19:29

Please let me know if and when they respond
pz

CudaNet
Posts: 58
Joined: 10 Jul 2016 22:32

Re: Schlage locks redux

Post by CudaNet » 12 Jul 2016 20:34

No problem. I pulled the logs off the var/log this morning. And for those wondering what FW I'm running...

BE469NX
FW Ver.: Main_6.8 12112014
Model#23685159

I'll continue to post all updates within this thread..
pz1 wrote:Please let me know if and when they respond
pz

CudaNet
Posts: 58
Joined: 10 Jul 2016 22:32

Re: Schlage locks redux

Post by CudaNet » 13 Jul 2016 18:45

Quick question. Has anyone performed a factory reset of the lock before inclusion within z-way ? I for one did not which might have contributed to my issues - or not. Just looking for additional information.

I did send z-way an email last night with all the information/logs etc..

Post Reply