COMMAND_CLASS_SOUND_SWITCH support

This is a collection of wishes and needs for the next versions of Z-Way/Z-Cloud/Z-Box
MrRusch
Posts: 40
Joined: 23 Jul 2019 09:11

Re: COMMAND_CLASS_SOUND_SWITCH support

Post by MrRusch »

seattleneil wrote:
23 May 2024 18:33
A potential work-around is to the "Virtual Device (JavaScript)" app (aka CodeDevice module) to create a multilevel switch, where the
command is something like: zway.devices[ZWAVE_DEVICE_ID].instances[CHANNEL_ID].commandClasses[0x79].Set(8,%%). Please understand that you'll need to determine the correct command to control the tone for a channel which you can do using the Expert UI. The virtual device will appear as a dimmer switch on the smarthome/normal UI where the dimmer level will be the tone. You can then change the icon from a light bulb to something more meaningful.
Yeah I have a similar work-around in place. Was just curious to whether the actual problem had been addressed somehow.
seattleneil
Posts: 192
Joined: 02 Mar 2020 22:41

Re: COMMAND_CLASS_SOUND_SWITCH support

Post by seattleneil »

Based on Z-Wave.me adding products with Zigbee and Matter support, it feels like the Z-Way developers are less focused on Z-Wave technology. I understand they have a business to run, but it makes me a little sad. If I wasn't so lazy, I would experiment with Z-Wave JS UI and Home Assistant.
User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 7624
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: COMMAND_CLASS_SOUND_SWITCH support

Post by PoltoS »

Missed this thread. Don't you have a button in the UI created for each tone? It should be rendered automatically. This works since 2019.
MrRusch
Posts: 40
Joined: 23 Jul 2019 09:11

Re: COMMAND_CLASS_SOUND_SWITCH support

Post by MrRusch »

PoltoS wrote:
07 Aug 2024 15:59
Missed this thread. Don't you have a button in the UI created for each tone? It should be rendered automatically. This works since 2019.
Yes there is a button to trigger each tone. But there is no way to change the default/chosen tone for each channel?
MrRusch
Posts: 40
Joined: 23 Jul 2019 09:11

Re: COMMAND_CLASS_SOUND_SWITCH support

Post by MrRusch »

PoltoS wrote:
07 Aug 2024 15:59
Missed this thread. Don't you have a button in the UI created for each tone? It should be rendered automatically. This works since 2019.
To set the default tone of a channel,

Code: Select all

zway.devices[nodeID].instances[X].commandClasses[121].ConfigurationSet(Y,255)
where X is the channel id, for example 2 for the tamper alarm or 3 for the first button;
and Y is the tone (1-30).

To trigger the default tone of a channel,

Code: Select all

zway.devices[nodeID].instances[X].commandClasses[121].TonePlaySet(255,255)
where X is the channel id, for example 2 for the tamper alarm or 3 for the first button.

Both of these are only available through expert commands or ZWaveAPI and are the two of the most useful commands imo.
Post Reply