Zwave range and power

Discussion about Z-Uno product. Visit http://z-uno.z-wave.me for more details.
tomshuette
Posts: 68
Joined: 29 Nov 2016 11:26

Re: Zwave range and power

Post by tomshuette » 12 Mar 2019 17:38

a question @ petergebruers:
"Note: users of eg Z-Way can find background noise in "Expert User Interface". "

within which menu? where?

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5093
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Zwave range and power

Post by PoltoS » 12 Mar 2019 23:10

No, Z-Uno do not report RSSI, but Z-Way can help you

petergebruers
Posts: 237
Joined: 26 Jul 2015 17:29

Re: Zwave range and power

Post by petergebruers » 12 Mar 2019 23:28

tomshuette wrote:
12 Mar 2019 17:38
"Note: users of eg Z-Way can find background noise in "Expert User Interface". "

within which menu? where?
In "Z-Wave Expert User Interface", menu "Analytics", item "Background Noise"

For more information, see chapter "8 Troubleshoot the Z-Wave Network" in the Z-Way manual, it explains the advanced functions like Zniffer and status views.
PoltoS wrote:
12 Mar 2019 23:10
No, Z-Uno do not report RSSI, but Z-Way can help you
Thanks! Understood!

tomshuette
Posts: 68
Joined: 29 Nov 2016 11:26

Re: Zwave range and power

Post by tomshuette » 13 Mar 2019 12:17

thanks,
my system will not suport analytics :(

petergebruers
Posts: 237
Joined: 26 Jul 2015 17:29

Re: Zwave range and power

Post by petergebruers » 13 Mar 2019 16:16

Are you in the expert menu?

Do you run a recent RaZberry (or UZB) firmware?

https://z-wave.me/support/uzbrazberry-firmwares/

tomshuette
Posts: 68
Joined: 29 Nov 2016 11:26

Re: Zwave range and power

Post by tomshuette » 13 Mar 2019 16:28

no, I use WD my Cloud... the last Firmware release was 2017...

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5093
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Zwave range and power

Post by PoltoS » 04 Apr 2019 00:48

You can download a newer from our site. WD are too slow to approve them within the same year :)

andyd
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Mar 2018 07:24

Re: Zwave range and power

Post by andyd » 27 Apr 2019 11:11

I have a similar issue. I have a range of about 10-15m, though it drops to around 1m through walls. I have tried powering from both USB and using a power supply, getting the same result each time.

Z-Uno (AU/NZ/BR frequency) - powered by either 12V stepped down from 24V or USB direct (12V disconnected).

I have tested the Z-wave connectivity using two PCs (one a home-built, the other a Surface 3) using HS3 running on Windows and an Aeon ZStick Gen5, on a 1m USB extension cable and also plugged in directly.

The Z-Uno is located inside a waterproof enclosure. It is connected to a display, two relays, and a water level sensor and is reporting all the variables and controlling the relays as required. When I am close enough I receive the tank level result and can send relay on/off commands. However, when I am more than a few metres away I get no connectivity at all.

It appears to be purely range-related, as if the Z-uno is putting out a very weak signal.

User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 5093
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: Zwave range and power

Post by PoltoS » 10 May 2019 12:34

Are you sure you bought the ANZ hardware? You can post a photo of the RF side, we will help to recognize not.

When have you bought it?

andyd
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Mar 2018 07:24

Re: Zwave range and power

Post by andyd » 01 Jun 2019 09:12

Purchased February 2018 from zwave.com.au

See attached pictures of the top and bottom of the unit.
Attachments
ZUno_Bottom.jpg
ZUno_Bottom.jpg (384.65 KiB) Viewed 818 times
ZUno_Top.jpg
ZUno_Top.jpg (294.92 KiB) Viewed 818 times

Post Reply