Multiple channels of the same type (and referencing them in Smartthings)

Discussion about Z-Uno product. Visit http://z-uno.z-wave.me for more details.
jemenake

Multiple channels of the same type (and referencing them in Smartthings)

Post by jemenake »

I'm just starting out with Zuno, and I'm trying to make a device which can control 4 relays. Although I'm sure I could configure the Zuno as a dimmer (and just use the dim-level as a bitmap for which relays should be on/off) or a color bulb (and I still might end up doing it this way, for reasons I'll explain below), I wanted to see if it was possible to do it the "right" way by setting up four channels, all of them ZUNO_SWITCH_BINARY.

In one of the code samples in the quick-start guide, they show how to setup multiple channels:

Code: Select all

ZUNO_SETUP_CHANNELS(
ZUNO_SWITCH_BINARY(getterLED, setterLED),
ZUNO_SWITCH_MULTILEVEL(getterDimmer, setterDimmer),
ZUNO_SENSOR_BINARY_GENERAL_PURPOSE(getterButton)
);
but I noticed that all of the channels are different. It is not clear to me if the multiple channels can be identical (and then the Z-Wave protocol has some way for the controller to address a certain channel by number) or if the protocol only has a way to address certain "capabilities" (i.e. a device either has a single "binary switch" capability or it doesn't, and if it does, a controller asks to talk to that device's "binary switch").

Is it possible to do something like:

ZUNO_SETUP_CHANNELS(
ZUNO_SWITCH_BINARY(getter1, setter1),
ZUNO_SWITCH_BINARY(getter2, setter2),
ZUNO_SWITCH_BINARY(getter3, setter3)
);
If so...
  • how would you select which switch you wanted to control from a Smartthings device-handler? I can't find any mention of a "channel number" in their methods for constructing a Z-wave message.