No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Discussion about Z-Uno product. Visit http://z-uno.z-wave.me for more details.
WernerS
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Oct 2016 20:09

No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Post by WernerS »

Hello

i work with a z-uno and a UZB1 Stick. For development i use the windows software zensys. I have include a fibaro switch and the z-uno.
When i press the switch of the fibaro i see the packages in zensys which are transmitt. I try now different sketches (examples) with the z-uno, but can not see any data transfered.
When i change the Software i make always a exlude and then an include
Waht is the problem?

kind regards
Werner
User avatar
PoltoS
Posts: 7571
Joined: 26 Jan 2011 19:36

Re: No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Post by PoltoS »

What do you expect Z-Uno to transmit?
A.Harrenberg
Posts: 201
Joined: 05 Sep 2016 22:27

Re: No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Post by A.Harrenberg »

Hi,

could explain that a little bit more in detail?

Is the sketch setup to send periodical reports or is there a switch/button that triggers a report? Is the sketch reaction to get/set commands? Is the include successfull? At least during the include you should see something.

Have you enable security? I don't know about the zensys tool, it seems to be quite old, at least what I found during a short search, maybe you activated security and that is not supported by the zensys tool?

Have you tried using the serial debug output to see if the sketch is running or maybe your Z-Uno hardware has a problem?

Just a bunch of wild guesses...
fhem.de - ZWave development support
WernerS
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Oct 2016 20:09

Re: No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Post by WernerS »

Hello

for the first i want to transmitt the position of a switch or to switch on a LED. I want to use it with Openhab.
Zensys seems to work fine. I see the Data and commands from the Fibarao Switch. In Zensys i can see what happened and if a Zwave modul works. Zensys is a monitor for me
I try security enabled and disabled.

kind regards
Werner
WernerS
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Oct 2016 20:09

Re: No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Post by WernerS »

Hello

include and exlude works fine.
The sketch must work, because in one example i switch on the onboard LED:

kind regards
Werner
A.Harrenberg
Posts: 201
Joined: 05 Sep 2016 22:27

Re: No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Post by A.Harrenberg »

Hi,

I am lost, I can't imagine why there should be no transmissions...

Maybe you can post on example so it becomes clearer of what should happen. Maybe you can try to make a sketch where a status message is send via sendreport() periodically and serial debug code to verify that the function is called...

I am using the Z-Uno with FHEM and it works very good. (I am experimenting with severall sensors added right now and so far everything work like specified...)
fhem.de - ZWave development support
WernerS
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Oct 2016 20:09

Re: No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Post by WernerS »

Hello

here 3 Screenshots from Zensys.
First you see the Startscreen with the Controller UZB1 then the fibaro and the zuno.
Second you see the data when i switch on the light with the fibaro
Third you see when i press switch of the zuno there is nothing.

i try this example



/*
* That is a Simple Sensor BInary example
* It watches over the built in button state
* And sends report to the controller if button's state changes
*/

// LED pin number
#define LED_PIN 13

// button pin number
#define BTN_PIN 18

// channel number
#define ZUNO_CHANNEL_NUMBER_ONE 1

// variable to store current button state
byte lastButtonState;


// next macro sets up the Z-Uno channels
// in this example we set up 1 sensor binary channel
// you can read more on http://z-uno.z-wave.me/Reference/ZUNO_SENSOR_BINARY/
ZUNO_SETUP_CHANNELS(ZUNO_SENSOR_BINARY(ZUNO_SENSOR_BINARY_TYPE_GENERAL_PURPOSE, getter));

void setup() {
pinMode(LED_PIN, OUTPUT); // set LED pin as output
pinMode(BTN_PIN, INPUT_PULLUP); // set button pin as input
}

void loop() {
// sample current button state
byte currenButtonState = digitalRead(BTN_PIN);

if (currenButtonState != lastButtonState) { // if state changes
lastButtonState = currenButtonState; // save new state
zunoSendReport(ZUNO_CHANNEL_NUMBER_ONE); // send report over the Z-Wave to the controller
if (currenButtonState == LOW) { // if button is pressed
digitalWrite(LED_PIN, HIGH); // shine the LED
} else { // if button is released
digitalWrite(LED_PIN, LOW); // turn the LED off
}
}
}


// function, which returns the previously saved button state
// this function runs only once the controller asks
byte getter(){
if (lastButtonState == 0) { // if button is pressed
return 0xff; // return "Triggered" state to the controller
} else { // if button is released
return 0; // return "Idle" state to the controller
}
}
Attachments
09-10-2016 10-14-17.jpg
09-10-2016 10-14-17.jpg (162.33 KiB) Viewed 9532 times
09-10-2016 10-14-52.jpg
09-10-2016 10-14-52.jpg (174.89 KiB) Viewed 9532 times
09-10-2016 10-15-13.jpg
09-10-2016 10-15-13.jpg (143.79 KiB) Viewed 9532 times
A.Harrenberg
Posts: 201
Joined: 05 Sep 2016 22:27

Re: No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Post by A.Harrenberg »

Hi,

is it possible that you do not have set the association between the Z-Uno and the controller?
Can you switch the LED from the Zensys software?

Regards,
Andreas.
fhem.de - ZWave development support
WernerS
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Oct 2016 20:09

Re: No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Post by WernerS »

Hi

from zensys i can switch the light at the fibaro but not the LED of the zuno.
I think that the main problem is the association to the Controller. I think the Controller dont see the zuno. I can programm the Arduino, but i am new on programming with zwave. I dont know what i must do here. I googel, but did not find any answers.

kind regards
Werner
A.Harrenberg
Posts: 201
Joined: 05 Sep 2016 22:27

Re: No data transmitt by z-uno (zensys)

Post by A.Harrenberg »

Hi Werner,

Switching is a "set" command that work without any association. Association is only required for the "unsolicited" status messages that most sensors (can) send out.

I am a little curious, if you use Zensys SW for development, what do you use for your home automation? Next question would be why don't you use this system to "play" with the Z-Uno?

Regards,
Andreas.
fhem.de - ZWave development support
Post Reply