Page 1 of 2

ThermostatSetPoint temperature unit incorrect in scaleTitle

Posted: 05 May 2015 20:23
by jensmoes
If I change ThermostatSetPoint and print out the virtual device using:

Code: Select all

JSON.stringify(virtualDevice)
It reports the unit as degrees F but the temperature values are in Celsius:

Code: Select all

{"creatorId":2,"deviceType":"thermostat","id"
:"ZWayVDev_zway_4-0-67","location":null,"metrics":{"scaleTitle":"°F","level":27,"min":5,"max":40,"icon":"thermostat","ti
tle":"RTCA Thermostat 4-0"},"permanently_hidden":false,"tags":[],"updateTime":1430762730}
If I query the whole data object on that command class I can see that scale is set to 0 (C) but deviceScale is set to 1 (F) for both heating and cooling, so I am not sure whether to expect F or C but the combination of the two is definitely not right.

I see the same on CC 49 when the thermostat reports its temperature and I print out the JSON object.

I am running 2.0.1rc25

Is this a known issue?

Re: ThermostatSetPoint temperature unit incorrect in scaleTi

Posted: 08 May 2015 10:55
by xchatter
Hi there,

What device are you using?
I am using ZXT-120 and the ScaleString values are OK in my case(all set to Celsius).

Re: ThermostatSetPoint temperature unit incorrect in scaleTi

Posted: 08 May 2015 21:47
by jensmoes
I am using a 2gig CT100.
Mine is set to Fahrenheit
I am curious, if you set your thermostat to Fahrenheit does it report the correct temperatures as well as scale in CC 67?

Re: ThermostatSetPoint temperature unit incorrect in scaleTi

Posted: 08 May 2015 22:16
by pz1
Have you tried changing Scale setting in /opt/z-way-server/config/Defaults.xml

Re: ThermostatSetPoint temperature unit incorrect in scaleTi

Posted: 09 May 2015 01:25
by jensmoes
I did change the <Fahrenheit> tag under ThermostatSetPoint to 1, it still returns the same as I have in the attached json file.

Re: ThermostatSetPoint temperature unit incorrect in scaleTi

Posted: 09 May 2015 11:58
by pz1
Hope the Zwave.me team can give you an answer soon

Re: ThermostatSetPoint temperature unit incorrect in scaleTi

Posted: 20 Jun 2015 23:44
by PoltoS
deviceScale stores scale reported by the device. scale is the one defined in Defaults.xml and shown to the user.

We are in Europe and have not tested F scale for quite some time. If it is broken, please report here: https://github.com/Z-Wave-Me/z-way-issues/issues (here, since it is related to the backend, not UI)

Re: ThermostatSetPoint temperature unit incorrect in scaleTi

Posted: 21 Jun 2015 07:45
by jensmoes
I reported that setting the Defaults.xml to Fahrenheit appears to have no effect on the UI.
I have no idea how this is supposed to work, but the UI certainly does not appear to be configurable based on the defaults. Whether the issue is in the backend or UI I will leave to you guys to determine :)
Thanks!

Re: ThermostatSetPoint temperature unit incorrect in scaleTi

Posted: 04 Jan 2016 17:55
by razwave
Same problem still exists on the following versions. Is there any chance this can be fixed soon?

Firmware

Library Type: Static Controller
SDK Version: 6.51.03
Serial API Version: 05.00
Capabillities:

UUID:
Subvendor:
Nodes limit:
Capabillities:
Z-Way Software Information

Version number: v2.1.2-rc17
Compile-ID: 79d4f1a27a88ede41f1607be31da5acfc769fe74
Compile-Date: 2015-11-15 01:03:23 +0300
UI

UI version 1.0.3

Re: ThermostatSetPoint temperature unit incorrect in scaleTi

Posted: 06 Jan 2016 06:16
by Zway424
I have a Honeywell thermostat and I was having same problem device reporting Fahrenheit values but showing units as Celsius after updating config.xml file for fahrenheit. I forced interview of the thermostat in the expert UI and now the device reads correct value and units in Fahrenheit. Hopefully this works for you, maybe not. It's worth trying though.