Why do I see multiple items for the same device? (i.e. 20.0, 20.1, etc)

Discussions about Z-Way software and Z-Wave technology in general
Post Reply
sofakng
Posts: 32
Joined: 09 Jun 2020 06:09

Why do I see multiple items for the same device? (i.e. 20.0, 20.1, etc)

Post by sofakng »

Can anybody explain why one of my devices shows multiple entries? They seem to have different numbers though:
Image

The device looks OK in the device list though?
Image

...and here is a screenshot from the expert interface:
Image
rafale77
Posts: 115
Joined: 23 Jun 2018 19:26

Re: Why do I see multiple items for the same device? (i.e. 20.0, 20.1, etc)

Post by rafale77 »

You probably want to read up on the zwave API device architecture.
There are several levels for a device:
node id: self explanatory
instance: This is used by devices requiring multiples of the same command class: multi switch, energy monitor with multiple phases etc...
command class: The type of data (switch, dimmable, binary sensor, analog sensor, etc...)
subclass: within the command class some have some further distinctions... example for a sensor, what kind of sensor is it etc...

These are then represented by z-way accordingly for those it interpreted.
sofakng
Posts: 32
Joined: 09 Jun 2020 06:09

Re: Why do I see multiple items for the same device? (i.e. 20.0, 20.1, etc)

Post by sofakng »

OK - Thanks. I'll read it up on it but it sounds like it might be normal. It's confusing because the Z-Wave device I'm referring to is a single on/off switch with electrical metering and a temperature sensor.
rafale77
Posts: 115
Joined: 23 Jun 2018 19:26

Re: Why do I see multiple items for the same device? (i.e. 20.0, 20.1, etc)

Post by rafale77 »

That's unfortunately how the device maker decided to structure its firmware. Why make it simple when you can make it very complicated? I tend to avoid these products like the pest....
enjayaitch
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Nov 2020 19:26

Re: Why do I see multiple items for the same device? (i.e. 20.0, 20.1, etc)

Post by enjayaitch »

I was wondering the same thing with a Fibaro Dimmer 2. Shows three separate switch devices (2.0, 2.1 and 2.2). Only one of them (2.1) “works” (I.e. responds to commands). Yet in the non-expert mode, only one shows up. I’m intrigued to understand what these three things actually represent - any clues? What’s particularly confusing is that the only place I can find these three variants is in the “control” section - is there anywhere else within the UI that displays characteristics etc.?
vinisz
Posts: 64
Joined: 23 Nov 2019 23:23

Re: Why do I see multiple items for the same device? (i.e. 20.0, 20.1, etc)

Post by vinisz »

For the Fibaro dimmer 2, those represents the status of the "switches" as far as I recall.... the 2.0 is the "generic one" (not actually used) , 2.1 is for switch 1 and 2.2 for switch 2 (when you configured it to work that way, in a "two button configuration"
This is also reflected in the documentation associations part:

The Dimmer 2 provides the association of five groups:
1st Association Group „Lifeline” reports state of the device. Main
Z-Wave Plus network controller should be added to this group. The
„Lifeline” group can handle only one device. It is not recommended
to modify this group.
2nd Association Group „On/Off (S1)” is assigned to switch no. 1.
Sends BASIC command class frame according to the state of the device.
3rd Association Group „Dimmer (S1)” is assigned to switch no. 1.
Sends MULTILEVEL SWITCH command class frame. Allows sending
dim/brighten command to associated devices.
4th Association Group „On/Off (S2)” is assigned to switch no. 2.
Sends BASIC command class frame according to the state of the device.
5th Association Group „Dimmer (S2)” is assigned to switch no. 2.
Sends MULTILEVEL SWITCH command class frame. Allows sending
dim/brighten command to associated devices.
Post Reply